company logo company logo


Residential Development
"Auwiesen"

  • Design:PLAN FORWARD GmbH
  • Bid. Cons.:PLAN FORWARD GmbH with the GWG Group as investor
  • GFA:13,182 m²
  • Services:non-open architectural and investor competition according to RPW 2013: development of a detailed planning concept for a planned residential development, 3rd place
  • Period:03/2019 - 12/2019
  • Aw. authority:City of Wangen im Allgäu
  • Res. Units:Lot 3: 50; Lot 4: 22
  • 3. Prize (lot 3 and 4)
Details

Architectural- and investor competition for the residential development "Auwiesen" in Wangen im Allgäu

The city of Wangen im Allgäu is host of the Baden-Württemberg “Landesgartenschau” 2024. On the outskirts of the horticultural show, a new, attractive residential area is to be built in the Auwiesen on four possible construction sites with a total of 15,700 m². The new development is to represent an important contribution to the exhibition for the topics of innovation timber construction, sustainable construction and future-oriented building forms.

The subject of the investor competition was the development of an adequate functional and architectural concept, which is well marketable and realizable within the budgetary constraints of an investor and offered together with an end-investor.

The challenge for the team was, among other things, to take into account the dimensions of the plots and the high-water situation, as well as to fulfill the wishes for high-quality and economical timber construction.

To achieve this goal, W+P mbH formed a bidding consortium consisting of its architect sister company PLAN FORWARD GmbH and the GWG Group as investor. As a result of the cooperation, the bidding consortium was awarded the 3rd prize for its concept developed for building lots three and four.

Urban concept

The planned development is adapted to the existing residential buildings in the surrounding area and presents itself coherently as a whole. All buildings are planned and arranged in such a way that there is a consistent orientation of the buildings and the visual axes from the living spaces into nature. The permeability is also maintained for the rear buildings facing the river. This emphasizes the interlocking of green and landscape space.

Shaping of the buildings

In order to achieve the desired good social mix and an attractive housing offer, different building types were planned - a mixture of single-family and townhouses as well as apartments with pergola access. All building types are planned in the timber modular construction method elevated on pedestals. The pedestals in solid construction serve as flood protection for the buildings above and at the same time they are used for the underground parking. They also create additional quality of living through seating steps and small meeting areas. All apartments and houses are equipped with terraces and/or balconies.

In addition, an architecturally appealing eight-story building with non-overlapping balconies is planned, which represents a clear landmark building for the new residential area Auwiesen and forms a visual connection to the already existing high-rise development on the Südring. It clearly shows that higher construction, which is sustainable in terms of land usage, can be attractively planned and impressively visualizes the possibilities of modular timber construction.

Parking concept and electric mobility

Parking spaces are accommodated in the underground garages. The layout of the driveways minimizes the impact of traffic on the residents. Only a few parking spaces for guests will be situated above ground. Charging infrastructure will be installed in the underground garages as well as for selected outside parking spaces.

Roof areas, photovoltaics and “Wiesenstadt”

The roof areas are planned as green roofs with areas for photovoltaics. The open spaces of the properties will be landscaped with wildflower and orchard meadows, residents' gardens and recreational areas. This prevents monocultures and creates new habitats.

CO²-optimized modular timber construction on site

The aim was to minimize the consumption of resources not only in the selection of raw materials, but also in the production process itself. In order to combine the advantage of the wood module construction method with the optimized transport volume of traditional manufacturing and thus truly CO²-optimized wood module construction, a mobile wood module factory to assemble the, was planned on site.

Firmenlogo Firmenlogo


Wohnbebauung
Auwiesen

  • Entwurf:PLAN FORWARD GmbH
  • BGF:13.182 m²
  • Leistungen:nicht offener Investoren- und Planungswettbewerb nach RPW 2013: Entwicklung eines detaillierten Planungskonzepts für eine geplante Wohnsiedlung
  • Zeitraum:03/2019 - 12/2019
  • Auslober:Stadt Wangen im Allgäu
  • 3. Preis (Baufeld 3. und 4.)
Details

Wettbewerb um die Entwicklung der Wohnbebauung Auwiesen in Wangen i. Allgäu

Die Stadt Wangen im Allgäu ist im Jahre 2024 Ausrichterin der Landesgartenschau Baden-Württemberg. Am Rande der Gartenschau soll in den Auwiesen ein neues, attraktives Wohngebiet auf vier möglichen Baufeldern mit insgesamt 15.700 m² entstehen. Die Neubebauung soll einen wichtigen Ausstellungsbeitrag zu den Themen Innovation Holzbau, nachhaltige Bauweise und zukunftsorientierte Bauformen darstellen.

Gegenstand des ausgelobten Investorenwettbewerbs war die Entwicklung eines adäquaten funktionalen und architektonischen Konzepts, welches gut vermarktbar und innerhalb der Budgetnotwendigkeiten eines Investors umsetzbar ist und zusammen mit einem Endinverstor angeboten wird.

Die Herausforderung für das Team bestand u. a. darin, die Abmessungen der Grundstücke und die Hochwassersituation zu berücksichtigen sowie die Wünsche nach hochwertiger und wirtschaftlicher Holzbauweise zu erfüllen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurde von der W+P mbH eine Bietergemeinschaft aus ihrer Architekten-Schwestergesellschaft PLAN FORWARD GmbH und der GWG-Gruppe als Investor gegründet. Als Ergebnis der Zusammenarbeit erzielte die mit dem erarbeiteten Konzept für das Baufeld drei und vier den 3. Preis

Städtebauliches Konzept

Die vorgesehene Bebauung ist an die bestehenden Wohngebäude der Umgebung angepasst und stellt sich zusammenhängend als Ganzes dar. Alle Gebäude sind so geplant und angeordnet, dass eine konsequente Ausrichtung der Gebäude und der Sichtachsen aus den Wohnräumen „ins Grüne" gegeben ist. Die Durchlässigkeit bleibt auch für die dahinterliegende Bebauung in Richtung Fluss erhalten. So wird die Verzahnung zwischen Grün- und Landschaftsraum unterstrichen.

Formfindung der Gebäude

Um die gewünschte gute soziale Durchmischung und ein attraktives Wohnangebot zu erreichen, wurden unterschiedliche Gebäudetypen geplant – eine Mischung aus Einfamilien- und Reihenhäusern sowie Wohnungen mit Laubengangerschließung. Alle Gebäudetypen sind in der Holzmodulbauweise erhöht auf Podesten geplant. Die Podeste in Massivbauweise dienen als Hochwasserschutz für die darüber liegenden Gebäude und gleichzeitig werden sie für die Tiefgarage genutzt. Zudem schaffen sie zusätzliche Aufenthalts-qualität durch Sitzstufen und kleine Begegnungsplätze. Alle Wohnungen und Häuser sind mit Terrassen und/oder Balkonen versehen.

Außerdem ist ein architektonisch ansprechendes acht geschossiges Gebäude mit nicht übereinanderliegenden Balkonen geplant, das einen deutlichen Signalpunkt für das neue Wohngebiet Auwiesen darstellt und eine Klammer zu der schon gegebenen Hochhausbebauung am Südring bildet. Es zeigt deutlich, dass höhere Bauweise, die aus dem Gesichtspunkt des Flächenverzehrs nachhaltig ist, attraktiv geplant werden kann. Außerdem macht es die Möglichkeiten des Holzmodulbaus sichtbar.

Parkierungskonzept und Elektromobilität

Die Parkplätze werden in den Tiefgaragen untergebracht. Die Anordnung der Zufahrten wurde so gewählt, dass die Bewohner möglichst wenig durch Verkehr beeinträchtigt werden. Oberirdisch sind nur einige Parkplätze für Gäste vorgesehen. Für einige Außen-Stellplätze und in den Tiefgaragen soll ein Ladeinfrastruktursystem eingerichtet werden.

Dachflächen, Photovoltaik und Wiesenstadt

Die Dachflächen sind als Gründach geplant und es sind Flächen für Photovoltaik vorgesehen. Die Freiflächen der Grundstücke werden mit Wildblumen- und Streuobstwiesen, Bewohnergärten und Aufenthaltsflächen gestaltet. So werden Monokulturen verhindert und neue Lebensräume geschaffen.

CO² - optimierte Holzmodulbauweise vor Ort

Ziel war es, nicht nur bei der Rohstoffauswahl Ressourcenverzehr zu minimieren, sondern auch bei der Fertigung selbst. Um den Vorteil der Holzmodulbauweise mit dem optimierten Transportvolumen der traditionellen Fertigung zu verbinden und so wirklich CO² optimierten Holzmodulbau zu betreiben, war eine mobile Holzmodul-Fabrik vor Ort geplant, in der die Module zusammengesetzt werden.

Aktuelles zum Projekt