company logo company logo

"Kunsthalle
Mannheim"

New construction of the „Kunsthalle Mannheim“ in Mannheim

  • Design:gmp International GmbH
  • GFA|Gr.Vol:14,830 m² | 103,370 m³
  • Services:AHO project stage 1 - 5, action area A - E
  • Period:06/2013 - 12/2017
  • Costs:68.3 mio. Euros (gross, CG 200-700)
  • Client:Stiftung Kunsthalle Mannheim

Project description

The new "Kunsthalle Mannheim" building replaces the 1983 extension (Mitzlaff Building), which is inadequate by today's standards. It also complements the listed Art Nouveau core building (Billing Building) of the Kunsthalle from 1907. 

Thus, with the representative entrance to Friedrichs-Platz, a sovereign dialogue with the city-specific context is created. An integral part of the new "Kunsthalle Mannheim" is the Billing Building, which is integrated into the new overall concept of the Kunsthalle in terms of architecture, infrastructure and energy. 

W+P Gesellschaft für Projektrealisierung mbH was responsible for the management and control of the project organization with all parties involved with regard to quality, costs and deadlines during the planning and realization of the project.

Firmenlogo Firmenlogo

Kunsthalle
Mannheim

Neubau der Kunsthalle Mannheim

  • Entwurf:gmp International GmbH
  • BGF|BRI:14.830 m² | 103.370 m³
  • Leistungen:AHO PST 1 - 5, HB A - E
  • Zeitraum:06/2013 - 12/2017
  • Baukosten:68,3 Mio. Euro (brutto, KG 200-700)
  • Bauherr:Stiftung Kunsthalle Mannheim

Projektbeschreibung

Der Neubau der Kunsthalle Mannheim ersetzt den nach heutigen Maßstäben unzureichenden Erweiterungsbau von 1983 (Mitzlaff-Bau). Er ergänzt ebenso den denkmalgeschützten Jugendstil-Kernbau (Billing-Bau) der Kunsthalle von 1907.

So entsteht mit dem repräsentativen Eingang zum Friedrichs-Platz ein souveräner Dialog mit dem stadtspezifischen Kontext. Ein integraler Bestandteil der neuen Kunsthalle Mannheim ist der Billing-Bau, der architektonisch, infrastrukturell und energetisch in das neue Gesamtkonzept der Kunsthalle eingebunden ist.

Die W+P Gesellschaft für Projektrealisierung mbH verantwortete die Steuerung und Kontrolle der Projektorganisation mit allen Beteiligten im Hinblick auf Qualität, Kosten und Termine bei der Planung und Realisierung des Neubaus.

Aktuelles zum Projekt